The Zallinger mountain guest-house and the alpine pastures surrounding it have a long tradition.

Until 1860 the name of the Zallinger pastures was ‚Sassegg‘ which is Ladin-Bajuwaric meaning ‚hill on the big rock’, hence on the Sassopiatto. From 1854, Karl von Zallinger-Stillendorf from Bolzano with Bavarian origins is mentioned as proprietor. It was he who in 1857 prompted the building of the modest neo-Gothic chapel consecrated to the Virgin Mother. One year later, the little church was solemnly inaugurated.

From that time on, the Zallinger mountain guest-house kept its original name, even though the proprietors frequently changed, especially around the turn of the century and during the war when the economic situation was rather difficult.

In 1933 Anton Schenk, subsequently mayor of Laion, purchased the property including 60 hectares of fields and pastures. In 1868 he bequeathed the property to his daughter Zita Schenk who got married to Hans Schenk-Trojer from Laion in the same year. 1989 Zita died and Hans continued the business alone and from 1990 on with his second wife Luisa Schieder from Castelrotto.

From 1993 to 1999 the hosts of the Zallinger mountain guest-house made it their business to partly renovate and rebuild the premises in order to keep up with the guests’ requirements.

From 2004 to 2005 some changes had to be realized in order to make the winter season more attractive for skiers. Firstly an artificial snow blower had to be planted and secondly the existing Zallinger ski slope had to be changed and enlarged. This project was again an important challenge for the business, the more so as big snow vehicles had also to be purchased in order to prepare the ski slopes and the toboggan runs. However, the investments paid off and the winter seasons became attractive again.

After its last renovation in 1993, the Zallinger church needed a new facelift on the occasion of its 150th jubilee. The works were accomplished in autumn 2007 thanks to the generous backing of neighbours and sponsors.

On July 28 2008 the accomplishment of the restoration was worthily celebrated.

From the end of 2008 the family started having a rough trot. The landlord Hans fell ill, a tumor was detected. Initially the family was full of hope, but unfortunately the illness won the battle in the end. On March 13 2010 Hans passed away peacefully after 15 months of suffering. Both as husband and as the central figure of the Zallinger mountain guest-house Hans left behind an immense void. His unique ability to fascinate, entertain and attract people, his extraordinary gift of planning and coordinating projects and not least his friendly, warm and welcoming manner made him a very special person – to put in in a nutshell: the unique Zallinger Hans!

However, life must go on at the Zallinger. Luisa and her nephew Markus – who has been working at the Zallinger for many years now – keep on doing their best to live up with the requirements of the many regular guests and numerous friends. They fulfill this with great pleasure.
We use cookies to offer the best possible user experience on our website. We also use third-party cookies, to deliver personalised advertisement messages. By using our website you agree, that cookies can be saved on your device. Further information on the cookies used and on how to disable them can be found here.